An Appointment With Love

He couldn’t just leave the woman who had faithfully written to him when he needed her words so much. So with a long glance back at the girl in the pale green suit, he stepped forward.

“Helen Taylor,” he said. “I’m Lieutenant Bradford. Nice to finally meet you.”

“I know, I know,” she said before he could continue. “I’m much older than I said I was, but it’s only because I didn’t think we’d ever actually meet.”

“It’s fine, no matter,” said Bradford. “That only explains why you have such wisdom and true insight into the human heart.”

Helen Taylor laughed. “Thank you,” she said. “For being so kind, but go on, chase after that blonde girl who is much prettier and closer to your own age than I am.”

Bradford turned red. “Thanks,” he said. “I should have known you’d be able to read me so well. I’m sorry I’m younger than I said I was.” He turned to leave, but stopped. “Can we meet up later this evening? To get a drink maybe? and talk?”

Helen’s eyes twinkled. Sometimes a love between friends is more meaningful than the fleeting kind that comes with a romantic affair. At her age she understood that and knew he did too.

Lieutenant Bradford dashed away, but by no means was it for forever.

One response to “An Appointment With Love

  1. Wonderful story. Paints a picture I am familiar with. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

